Adding salt to a freshwater tank???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

srcooper

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I am new to this. However what I have been reading in here looks like everyone is friendly and helpful.
I would like to know if I should add salt to my freshwater tanks. If so, what are the benifits. I have a 20gal and a 55gal.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

From comments made by crazy I am understanding that not all freshwater fish react favorably to aquarium salt.

Maybe if you could describe your tank in as much detail as possible including how many fish and the types of fish someone who understands freshwater could give you better advice about your specific setup.

Types of fish

In my 55gal, Im have 2-small irredescent sharks, 1-small red parrot, 3-small koi, 1-Large placosomus, 1-small Placasomus, 1-small rainbow shark, 1-blue gurromi, 1-comet.
In my 20gal, I only have 2-small koi, 3-small gold fish, an algae eater, and 1-black mollie

For what it is worth, first off, I think you have mixed species that really do not belong together. Koi require much different tank parameters than lets say..your gourami, sharks and comet do. They are also a relatively dirty fish as far as tank cleanup goes, you will be vacuuming ALOT.

As far as the salt goes, I do not know about the parrot fish and koi, but the rest will tolerate the salt well. Adding the salt really helps helps the gill function.