Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-27-2013, 02:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Adding Schooling Fish

Hey Everyone,
I am new to aquaria, just cycled a 20 gallon tank and am wanting to add a school of 6 or 7 harlequin rasboras. Everything i have read says to add new fish 1-3 at a time, but contradictory to that i have read schooling fish will be stressed or potentially aggressive/territorial if not enough are added. What is the best way to add a school of fish???

Old 05-27-2013, 02:25 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

I'm assuming you did a fishless cycle, if so go ahead and add them all.

Old 05-27-2013, 04:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Quote:
Originally Posted by --Matt-- View Post
Hey Everyone,
I am new to aquaria, just cycled a 20 gallon tank and am wanting to add a school of 6 or 7 harlequin rasboras. Everything i have read says to add new fish 1-3 at a time, but contradictory to that i have read schooling fish will be stressed or potentially aggressive/territorial if not enough are added. What is the best way to add a school of fish???
It all depends on the size of tank and amount of filtration you have. The more water and filtration you have the less of a problem it will be to add large groups.
For example, on my 55g with 200g worth of filtration, adding an entire school of fish isn't really going to make much of a difference on my bio filter. But on a 20g it is much better to add things more slowly. That being said, if you just finished a fishless cycle; your bio filter will never be stronger so feel free to fully stock the tank right away if you choose.
Old 05-27-2013, 09:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Rasboras

Quote:
Hey Everyone,
Hello Matt...