Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-10-2012, 06:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
PilotGav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 76
Adding smooth gravel on top of coarse

I have just inherited an Albino Cory. Im worried My gravel is too coarse for him.

I'm going to put a layer of smooth gravel down on top. Can anyone see any potential issues with this?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
PilotGav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,706
There will be mixing.
What do you currently have?
__________________

__________________
I support the right to arm bears.
blert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 07:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RussellC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotGav View Post
I have just inherited an Albino Cory. Im worried My gravel is too coarse for him.

I'm going to put a layer of smooth gravel down on top. Can anyone see any potential issues with this?

Thanks!
When you vacuum the gravel, I think you'd end up inadvertently wind up pulling some of the coarse gravel back up to the top.
__________________
"I wish, I wish, I wish I were a fish" --Henry Limpet
RussellC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 07:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
PilotGav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 76
Vacuuming. I forgot.


Here's my current substrate. I'm guessing this isn't good for him?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-739959107.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	105775  
__________________
PilotGav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
vanimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So Flo
Posts: 2,235
I suggest switching over to sand. It will cost you like $10.
__________________
vanimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:10 PM   #6
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
I wouldn't worry about it, the only barbel erosion issues I've seen are usually traced down to a bacterial issue rather than rough substrate. It's not like there are no sharp edges in nature.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TankMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 437
+1 on bacteria Also, nitrate levels can cause erosion in barbels. Keep them down and you should be fine, but sand doesn't hurt I love sand
__________________
FW Fish-keeper. "Live baby, live".
75g
10g(x3)
7g
TankMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
PilotGav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 76
I would love to have gone with sand but I don't want to disrupt the tank now.

Next tank will be sand for sure
__________________

__________________
PilotGav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gravel

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×