Advice on how many fish to have in a 40g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

7bubbles

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everybody,

I finally got the tank and water cycled so this weekend I will get the first fish. I understand I need to stock the aquarium over several weeks getting only a couple fish every week (which is fine as my children will be excited to pick new fish every weekend).

The question is roughly how many fish I can have in the 40g? Obviously this will depend on the type of fish. I would like lots of little ones (tetras, guppies, platies) and a couple of midsize (angelfish any other suggestion?).

I am very new to this hobby so your comments will be very much welcomed

As you said it does depend what you get. Also some fish just won't work together (and don't believe those 'community' labels at the fish store).

Pick a fish that you definitely want, and then we can work around finding matches for that fish.

My son and I have been looking at books and in the web and the ones he likes are: guppies, tetras, rainbowfish, angelfish, discus, platies and swordtails. I think the glass catfish is rather interesting and the red tail black shark is really nice. A nice to have would be a clown loach.

I am not sure if I can get all that in my little tank or if it is even advisable based on the fish temperament.

So what I would like to get from the different people in the forum is the mix they would pick based on your knowledge and experience using the fish I mentioned above. Also if you would like to add other fish I did not mention that is also good and I will check them.

Thanks in advance for your help and start submitting your "perfect mix" 

Clown loaches grow to about eighteen inches I think. They get large, and need a big tank. They also like to have some friends of their own species.

Courtesy of Dakota's iPod.