algae question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PotRoastMan

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to the hobby, and have had 2 fish for 1 month today in a 29 gallon tank. Cycle appears to be going well, this morning I tested and amonia is near zero and nitrite is rising as expected..

I've been noticing some algae growing on the driftwood, and a couple spots on a big rock. Should I do something about this?

That just indicates excess nutrients in the water. I would feed the fish everyone day--don't worry, they can handle it :wink:

*giggle* I think she meant everyother day. hehe. yes they can handle it. or just feed half of what you normally do. Other than that, it looks pretty normal to me. Most tanks have a little, some people even like it. Its your call! Maybe it doesn't bother you....

While you are trying to get the tank cycled I would ignore things like algae if you can. Try to leave the tank alone as much as possible because it is easy to disturb the bacteria.

Yeah.
Get a pleco.
They're a lot of fun. Easy to take care of. And really get down to work.
Spend a little bit more and buy a fancy one. They grow to a smaller sizer than the common ones and a are a bit cuter.
Bristlenoses are nice. Clowns just look weird to me. Jeff
PS On the topic of Plecs, what PH do they like? I have mine in a slightly hard African cichlid tank.

Wait until the cycle is done before getting a pleco, but I have a hard time stocking a tank without at least one, LOL!

No fish like high nitrites, but are Plecos any worse than most fish?
In any event, from the photo above, he wouldn't go short a meal. Jeff

Plecos are remarkably adaptable, and many can be kept in a hard, alkaline tank as well as in a soft, acidic tank, provided they are very slowly acclimated.