Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-17-2010, 05:38 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mommytron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: vermont
Posts: 3,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
Too much ammonia can hurt the cycle, BUT, you need to keep it at 3-4ppm in order to establish a large enough colony of nitrifying bacteria so that the initial stocking wont create a mini cycle. By keeping the ammonia at 4ppm, you're feeding way more bacteria than you would at 1ppm. Its hard to explain really, but there will only be as many bacteria in the tank as there is food for them

not meaning to thread jack, but does this mean that since it took 2 cap fulls of ammonia to dose up to 3ppm initially, i should be adding 2 cap fulls whenever ammonia hits 0 (before cycle is over)??
__________________

__________________
-Rachel
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
mommytron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 05:42 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Petty Officer Salamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 156
right. If ammonia = 0, it will take the same amount of ammonia to reach the same ppm as before. A rule of thumb that I use is ~1tsp per 10g.
__________________

__________________
-POS

Remember what I said to you? I wasn't kidding.
http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/member.php?u=63774
Petty Officer Salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 05:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxima423's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: fresh meadows, new york
Posts: 1,406
Send a message via MSN to maxima423
=] i just dose 2-3ml when ammonia reaches .25ppm, it shoots back up to 2ppm so ill stick with that ^_^
__________________
live for the moment, cause you will never know if you will have a future...
maxima423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 01:32 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
logansmomma1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,470
Send a message via Yahoo to logansmomma1228
Huh well I never thought of it that way I just dose it to 4 once, then toss a teaspoon or so in a day or every other day until it cycles. Haven't had problems yet.
__________________
~LM~ (My tanks)
When in doubt, do a water change!

If someone gives good advice, thank them with some rep points!
logansmomma1228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 02:31 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
taylorodw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 886
If you are using 10% ammonia, 1 tsp = 4.5ppm ammonia in a 30gal tank. IMO 1tsp per 10gal is way too much, but ammonia might be in different concentrations brand to brand. If you use ace brand janitorial strength ammonia, this forumula posted by Crepe is perfect:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Crepe View Post
I'll do the math for you:

4 ppm is four parts per million in mass-

55 gallons of water will weigh about 208kg or 208000grams
1 Litre of 10% Ammonia will contain in it 100 grams of NH3 ions.
1 teaspoon= ~5ml therefore one teaspoon will contain in it .5 grams if NH3 ions.
.5/208000= 2.4 ppm.

One and a half teaspoons will be your optimal dosing. Landing you at about 3.6 ppm.

This is for only a 10% concentration of NH3OH so yours may be different. I will calculate it for you if you want.
Just change it for your tank size. FYI, 1 tsp of 10% ammonia in a 10gal = ~13 ppm (I think, I'm no math whiz).
__________________
Fish keeping is a hobby that has at least as many questions as answers.
Voting Prevents Ich
These findings supported by the AquariumAdvice.com panel for improving voter turnout. All rights reserved, fictional information may not apply in your area.
taylorodw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 08:00 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxima423's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: fresh meadows, new york
Posts: 1,406
Send a message via MSN to maxima423
Quote:
Originally Posted by logansmomma1228 View Post
Huh well I never thought of it that way I just dose it to 4 once, then toss a teaspoon or so in a day or every other day until it cycles. Haven't had problems yet.
yea i can do it that way too =]
__________________
live for the moment, cause you will never know if you will have a future...
maxima423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 11:52 AM   #17
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
The tank will cycle even if you only dose it up to .5 ppm of ammonia... you just wont have as big of a colony of bacteria, which is certainly fine if you stock slowly... The biggest advantage of dosing 4ppm is the ability to add more stock initially after the cycle
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 11:56 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxima423's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: fresh meadows, new york
Posts: 1,406
Send a message via MSN to maxima423
well for now, i only plan on getting fighting fish until the end of summer, when summer ends, i plan to get 1 clown most definitely, than prob a BN if anything, i just learned that all four of my LFS only has albino cories, since i dont plan on having albinos, ill add the cories probably much later this year
__________________
live for the moment, cause you will never know if you will have a future...
maxima423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 06:10 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxima423's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: fresh meadows, new york
Posts: 1,406
Send a message via MSN to maxima423
CHEERS, ammonia at .50ppm and nitrite is 1ppm or 2ppm ( its not 5 cause 5ppm is VERY dark )

i put 2ml of ammonia and going to check tomorrow night ^_^ almost there!!!
__________________

__________________
live for the moment, cause you will never know if you will have a future...
maxima423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
overstock, overstocked

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overstocked??? marisullivan Cichlid Discussion 9 04-11-2010 07:25 PM
Am I Overstocked?? (10 Gal) jbarr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 10-04-2006 08:09 PM
Am I overstocked? Finatic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 09-27-2006 02:48 PM
Overstocked? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-17-2006 02:17 PM
Am I overstocked? u2_Crazy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 02-07-2006 03:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.