AMMONIA level Unchanged right After PWC???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mentalpaws

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hi all

newbie here, well i was on here before, but had to re-register :[ :facepalm:

my question is if i did a PWC and the ammonia levels tests the same a few minutes after the change, does that mean I should do another PWC right away?

55G single fantail goldie freshwater thank, this morning ammo read .5 to 1.0

i had a tank crash and a mini cycle- whatever thats called - about a month ago -so i think a spike here is normal.....

then just now, immediately after a 25% change, it was the same color, very light green maybe a trace lighter, should i wait a while and re-test this evening?
Should I do another PWC? How much? When?

THIS MORNING READINGS WERE:
pH was 6.6
nitrite was 0
nitrate was 5.0
ammo was 1.0

thank you!

I had the same problem a few weeks ago. Then I read on a forum (not sure if it was this one or not 'cos I was looking everywhere) that the API test kits are notoriously unreliable. I had done huge water changes every day and still had the same readings that you have. All my fish are fine so I think that this is ok.

hmmmm really- thats crazy wierd!! i am using what everyone tells me to, the API Master Tester, vials and liquid drops kit.....its hard to REALLY tell the exact reading on those charts, the color changes are so subtle, never seeming to match up color-wise exactly, it depends on the lighting, your eyes, blah bla bla....

but good to hear yours was the same. Do you have goldfish too?

all i know is a month ago my ammo was DARK green, 8.0 !!!
i recently upgraded my tank to 55G, water changes every day for weeks, and now its in the yellow range.

A lot of times some water conditioners will give you a false positive on some of your test. Best to wait at least an hour or better to test.