Any recommendations for colorful tankmates for Angels & Yoyo Loaches

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fredmertz

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 75g tank with 4 yoyo loaches (2-3 inches) and 5 angel fish (also 2-3 inches) and would like to add some colorful tankmates.

I had my heart set on some dwarf gouramis, but it seems like they wouldn't get along well with the angels.

Any advice on what species I can add to get some blues, reds or oranges into the tank.

The only fish I would rule out are livebearers, as I don't want to deal with a population explosion.

Thanks!

Fake plants unfortunately. I am still learning, so do you mind if I ask which fish that makes a difference for?

Population explosions are good lol The angels will have a tasty snack once in awhile with every spawn from the livebearers, or you could sell the fry.

To add more colour, I've had success with cardinal tetras in peaceful cichlid communities. Make sure you keep a larger school of 10 or preferably more. They actually added another dimension to my tank, made everything else look more natural. I had 14 Cardinals mixed with about 15 neons, jumbo neons and glowlights. Red eye tetras will co-exist without fear. Silvertips have a nice orange to them, but very quick swimmers, probably not ideal for the angels.

Aside from tetras, you could look into peacock cichlids, or rams. I like kribs but they won't add the pop you're looking for.

If your angels ever have nipped fins, look at the yoyos, not the other angels. Yoyos are notorious fin nippers. The more you have, the more they keep to their own kind. I have 6

Some fish eat plants. I found out the hard way...Buenos Aires tetra. Have a 150g planted tank and bought a school that ate a bunch of plants.

I'm assuming you are going to community fish.

I love my neons..just bought 10 more an hour ago. Cardinals work too.