Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2009, 12:02 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
Posts: 54
Aquaplus Conditioner

I am trying to cycle a new tank using pure ammonia and I'm using filter media from an established tank. I expected something to happen quickly because of the filter media, but nothing was happening so I started looking for answers.

My tap water has added chloramine, but I hadn't conditioned it, I had just waited for the chlorine to evaporate, but now I know that chloramine does not evaporate.

So I added Aquaplus to remove the chloramine, and then an hour later I added gravel from the established tank. After adding the Aquaplus, the bubbles from the air stones started accumulating on top of the water. It isn't foamy or iridescent like soap bubbles.

Does Aquaplus cause this? Or did removing the chloramine allow soap bubbles to form when they didn't before?

Ammonia is about 4 and Nitrite and Nitrate are zero. The tank has Malasian driftwood and some Java fern and a few other ornaments.

If anyone has any idea what could be causing this, or even knows whether it could be harmful (to either the cycle or to fish when I add them), I would appreciate your advice.

Thanks,
Greeny.
__________________

__________________
Greeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 02:41 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
from reading up on it quickly most likely it was the case.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 10:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
Posts: 54
I'm sorry, I don't understand your answer. Most likely what was the case?
__________________
Greeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 03:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
Posts: 54
I did some more research and apparently Aquaplus causes bubbles, especially if there is a lot of aeration. I have lots of aeration because it is a very deep tank. So I will switch conditioners later, but not worry for now.

Thanks,
Greeny.
__________________
Greeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 03:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
Quote:
Does Aquaplus cause this?
Quote:
from reading up on it quickly most likely it was the case.
..
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 06:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tampa
Posts: 433
I have heard a lot of complaints that aquaplus will do this obviously some other water conditions will apply but i think switching will hopefully cover it. People keep returning it to the store with complaints, a shame since haegens products are usually not bad... over priced... but not bad.
__________________
55g - 3" Long-Finned Albino Oscar
10g - Heavily Planted, M GBR, 3 Otos, 6 Schooling Rummy's
SWerner13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 06:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Works fine for me, been using it for two years now, I dont get any bubbles but I also treat my water and store it for a week before adding it to the tank.

did you add the exact correct dosage? I use a syringe to administer mine, dont know if that is the difference or not. I have 3 tanks running on this stuff.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
just switch to prime and be done with it.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 08:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Joker741's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: G14 Classified
Posts: 507
Send a message via AIM to Joker741 Send a message via MSN to Joker741 Send a message via Yahoo to Joker741
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
just switch to prime and be done with it.
x2
__________________

__________________
90 gallon FW community tank, 5 gallon - electric blue lobster (House of Blue), Marineland Hex 5 - quarantine/hospital tank.
Joker741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
condition

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water conditioner jungle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 12-20-2008 01:45 AM
Changing Conditioner scalesojustice Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 11-02-2006 12:30 PM
water conditioner drummerj Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 09-06-2006 06:04 PM
water conditioner jarnism Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-16-2006 02:51 PM
Hagen/Nutrafin Aquaplus vega Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 09-19-2003 03:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.