Aquarium Cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Canes53

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a question about my nitrogen cycle... I have a 20 gallon tank that's been cycling for two weeks. Yesterday, I had zero ammonia and nitrite readings, using then API master test kit. My Nitrates were 20 ppm. Today, however, my ammonia has jumped back up to .25 or .35 ppm and my nitrates are holding steady at 20 ppm. Does anyone have any idea what's going on? Is it possible to have ammonia and nitrates? I'm new to the hobby and any hep would be greatly appreciated!!!

What have you done with it? Like, put in fish, possibly added in a bit too much of the Ammonia source...?

Cycling is done in a few different ways, could you elaborate how youre doing it?

Fish or fish-less? What is your Ammonia source? Etc...

Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice

Just keep doing what youre doing. You should be in the home stretch of cycling if those are your readings. That is, assuming you are doing a fish in cycle.

Sorry for the lack of info.. I'm doing a fish in cycle. I have used Tetra Safe Start as well as substrate from a cycled aquarium. The substrate seemed to help, but then my ammonia readings came back up to .25 from zero. Is this normal? I have four glo tetras, a rainbow shark, 2 zebra danios, 2 blue Rams and two Bolivian Rams. I also have four neon tetras.

If you added them in all at once, at around the time your ammonia spiked, then yes. Your bacteria wouldn't be able to cope with all the new additions. It will in time.

If you've added the fish gradually ever since the beginning, then I'm not sure.