Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-06-2016, 12:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
Aquasolum substrate???

I got some Aquasolum black humate from the lfs on a deal, but have never used it before.

It seems kinda light so i was thinking of having a florite cap or just mixing it in to give weight.

Its going into my 10gallon, highlight, Diy plant only co2, experimental, internet bs, crazy tank.
__________________

__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 11:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
Bump...
__________________

__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 04:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
No one? Chirp chirp
__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,635
I've never heard of it bud. What is your actual question?

I wonder if it's light for a reason? Maybe it's porous and absorbs water?
__________________
Caliban07 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
This stuff from Aquavitro


Click image for larger version

Name:	1478643867962.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	290732
__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,132
I'm getting on the google. Stand by

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,132
It seems like a charged up aqua soil. I'd use it as a sublayer, cap it with something fine, not coarse. It seems like it will turn to mud over time so uprooting plants may turn your tank into a coffee pot. I employ this method in my planted tanks. Layered substrate. I use clay and osmocote, aqua soil, fluorite fine and black sand topping.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
Apparently its real clean and doesnt turn to mud, my lfs has had a planted tank on display with just this in it and it looks good even after a yr.
..i was thinking something fine mixed in or on top, maybe black florite sand? For carpeting plants as i imagine they need a finer top layer for runners

This is going to be a rescape of my 10gal highlight, diy Co2 tank
__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
Im going to try a seed start DHG carpet.

Any other suggestions?
__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:46 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
I found this but the guy seems like hes sponsored so odk how much of the advice is legit.

https://youtu.be/vcWk20HJVUs
__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 12:14 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 9
Hey bullyboy - did you end up capping it with sand? I'm thinking of doing the same thing with some leftover Aquasolum I have, capping with black sand.
__________________
travellife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 01:03 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
I did i capped with black florite sand and it was still quite lightand the sand filters down.
After about a couple months however it was a more solid substrate and i really enjoy it now
__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 01:35 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullyboy View Post
I did i capped with black florite sand and it was still quite lightand the sand filters down.
After about a couple months however it was a more solid substrate and i really enjoy it now
That's funny since I ended up doing the same thing with original Flourite, clay colored substrate. Gotta say it looks pretty good, plants seem to enjoy it so far.
__________________
travellife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 09:52 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
Yah i was surprised how solid it eventually got those crypts are in there forever
__________________

__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
substrate or no substrate fishydave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-27-2013 05:19 PM
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 05:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 10:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 06:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×