Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2019, 06:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 36
aquired an Aquaclear 70 filter, how to clean

As title says, I purchased a used filter that was described as runs good shape. It looks pretty clean already, but there is a small amount of stained areas I would like to clean off to make it as shiny an new as I can, and to make sure nothing nasty has been left behind, if that can even happen.
How does everyone go about cleaning this type of the thing. Is bleach/water mix ok to do and rinse and repeat with the rinse many times over before put into use?
__________________

__________________
kbalaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,548
Soak it in vinegar then scrub it.
__________________

__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 01:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,722
Hagen Filter

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbalaz View Post
As title says, I purchased a used filter that was described as runs good shape. It looks pretty clean already, but there is a small amount of stained areas I would like to clean off to make it as shiny an new as I can, and to make sure nothing nasty has been left behind, if that can even happen.
How does everyone go about cleaning this type of the thing. Is bleach/water mix ok to do and rinse and repeat with the rinse many times over before put into use?
Hello k...

Simply take the filter apart and put the pieces, except the electrical part, in a bucket of warm tap water with a couple of tablespoons of standard aquarium salt. Just let everything soak for a couple of hours or even overnight. The electrical part can be scrubbed inside with a small bottle brush. Actually, you really don't need to go to great effort to clean it. If it looks pretty clean already, you can set it up and run it. As long as you're keeping the tank the filter goes in really clean with large, frequent water changes, there's no parasite or virus that will live in pure water conditions.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 02:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 36
the body of the filter looks really good, pretty clean, the intake tubes and U-tube has some dried algae and gunk, just wanted to get that cleaned out. Thanks again all
__________________
kbalaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 03:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 36
So I come up with these ideas and you think by now I would have learned to plan much better. My goal was to simultaneously run both filters on my tank, but even with the second cutout removed, I can't fit them both in. Now my dilemma, do I switch over to the aquaclear filter and hope I don't start another cycle in my tank or leave well enough alone? I could easily fit all the extra biomedia I packed in the back of my penguin 150 into the aquaclear including the bio-wheel and then some and hope my cycle holds.
__________________
kbalaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 03:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,548
Cut more of the lid out.
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 09:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Fisher View Post
Cut more of the lid out.
Hot **** you are a genius. I have been working too much and can't think straight, at least that is my excuse. I could get a dremel tool and just cut another inch and it would be perfect. Man I love this place. Although you guys are making me look silly most of the time lol, still love it here.
__________________
kbalaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 02:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,548
Lol. I've cut on a couple of mine in the past to fit two filters. Did it with a Dremel tool too. Works like a charm.
__________________

__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, aquaclear 70, clean, clear, filter, red

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newly aquired used hob filter Franwjr General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 12-03-2012 07:22 PM
Newly Aquired Moonlight (photo) Legacy New Acquisitions 3 11-25-2005 07:11 PM
I aquired a new J O B!!! Ricky@3rdshift New Acquisitions 0 11-06-2005 06:29 PM
Just aquired a 80 Gallon Tank Any ideas mrgolfball Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 10-02-2005 11:23 PM
Best thing to do for newly aquired bleached coral? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-11-2004 10:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.