Automatic feeders ???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

screaminbuckeye

Aquarium Advice Regular
As some of you know I am a college student. I live in a dorm and go home 3 or 4 times a quarter. I would rather not transport my fish home for every long weekend. I can't get my roommate to feed my fish because she can't stand the smell of the food. She will only feed my bettas but that leaves my cichlids and my eel without meals for 3 or 4 days.

I have been reading about automatic feeders. Can anybody give me some recomendations? I need one for a 10 gal tank and a 20 gal tank. Also do these feeders dispense frozen food? My eel is on a steady diet of frozen blood worms and I haven't been able to get him to eat freeze dried or pellets. lol no way in hell is my roommate gonna touch the worms. Is there some way I can go home and not worry about my fish getting food?

I have an automatic feeder that feeds 2 times a day. The cheapest place to get one is at Walmart for around $10. I know that there are others out there that I think that you can program how much they get and when they get it for as long as a wk or longer. I personally have never used my feeder. We camp and I sometimes just go a couple of days without feeding. It wont kill them for a couple of days they are a little tougher then we apparently give them credit! But DO NOT get those feeder blocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I CANNOT stress this enough. Take my word for it. I did it and I lived to regret it! I ended up loosing almost all my fish because it desolved fast and it didnt get ate and it started working on my ammonia and nitrites and it was a nightmare! But check out the ones at Walmart. I dont think that they are too bad for the money being most petstores want over $15 for one!P.S. Where you at in OH? I'm in WV. Originally a Buckeye!