Baby Snails

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tdalessa01

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Everybody. I have been in the hobby for awhile and this is my first time on this site. In all my years this is the first time I found snails in my tank. I know that they probably hitched a ride in egg form with my plants. After hard work I managed to get all( 8) snails out of my tank and transferred them to a 1.5 gal. hex tank I had lying around. I didn't want to kill them because I appreciate all living things in the water so I left them feeding them pieces of algae pellets. Now I have about 40-50 eggs in the tank on a stem which I expected. SO, what can I do? I live in the northeast. It is cold in the winter. I can't throw them in local pond right? The LFS wont take them?? They appeared in a tank with 6 tiger barbs, 1 catfish, and an algae eater with 3 plants. What can I do, I don't want them, but I don't want to hurt them??

Welcome to AA

I commend you for doing the right thing in regard to the snails. Depending on the type, you may find that folks would want to have them. When you say the LFS won't take them, do you mean you offerred them and they refused?

If the LFS refused them and you cannot find any takers, you will have to euthanize them. The USDA recently imposed severe restrictions on snails due to their proliferation and causing damage to eco-systems they are not native to.

ya, its illegal in most places to put snails and the such in ponds...they overtake them VERY fast. If its a matter of you personnally not being able to kill them (i hate killin all animals too), but you dont mind seeing them eaten, then get a clown loach or 2, or give them to someone w/a clown loach.