Beginner Plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aces11

Aquarium Advice FINatic
First off, I apologize if this is in the wrong section.

What are some good beginner plants that are low tech and low maintenance? Preferably something that doesn't cost a lot and absorb nitrate? I want to give my tank a little bit more natural look and I know almost nothing about plants.

Hi, this probably goes into the FW Planted tank section; I'm sure a Mod will come along and move it if it does.

I'm very new to plants too and asked an experienced member/seller here which plants would do well and she suggested Anubias (Bartieri, Nana), Java Fern, Windelov Fern, and any type of moss probably (Java Moss is what I have). So far they seem OK although I haven't had them long lol. I bought them from Severum Mama on this site; she may have more, not sure. Here's her listing: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f25/lots-of-nice-plants-177080.html

I highly recommend plants and/or fish from her.

There may be others but that's what I have so far.

Java Moss and Java Fern is what I have. Its superb. Anubias is good too. All low lighting and does not need anything else besides the usual 50% pwc every week.

Crpyts are pretty much impossible to kill IME. I planted one upside down once and it sorted itself out. Some beginning stems like Wisteria are good to if you think you have low-medium light.

Anachris, hornwort, and wisteria seem nice. Will my platys or endlers eat them? Would they be readily available at the pet store? Is there anything special I should know about them?

Anachris, hornwort, and wisteria seem nice. Will my platys or endlers eat them? Would they be readily available at the pet store? Is there anything special I should know about them?