Best Kit For a Small Cherry Shrimp Setup?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rokuzachi

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey guys!

I've decided that my large and rather barren kitchen needs some decoration. I've never done inverts before, so I thought it would be fun to do a small planted tank with nothing but Red Cherry Shrimp.

My main question is - what's the best kit for this? I bought my last tank piece by piece from a bunch of places, so I'd like to go with a kit this time. I was thinking of the Eclipse 12 or 3 system. Would that work alright? The 3 seems a bit small, but I don't know much about da shrimps. (How many can you house in tanks of those sizes anyways?)

I'd prefer to stay in the 5-10ish gallon range, so if you know of a good kit for a good price, let me know. Thanks!

You should be careful with some of those kits. More often than not, the filter included with them isn't suited for the size tank it comes with. Sure, the manufacturer will claim that the filtration is adequate for that particular kit, but you should really be taking 50-65% of the manufacturer's claimed filtration capability when looking at the actual ability of the filter. For example, I have an Aqueon QuietFlow 30 on my 20g high tank, which makes the claim that it will filter up to a 45g.

A few of those kits have terrible access into the tank as well. I looked into a couple of the Marineland Eclipse kits at one point, and even tried and returned the 5 gallon hex. You had to practically disassemble the hood of the aquarium to do anything in the tank, from adding fish to doing a water change. Make sure you're thinking about that when you look into any of those kits.