Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2015, 09:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 254
Betta bowl to a 5.5 g tank (exciment)

So, I finally got a nice decent tank for my betta. I love this little guy he is full of personality. I've had him for over 18 weeks and I been wanting to give him a better home but I didn't have the money. So I finally got a top fin starter pack 5.5g and I am in love with it (you can control the power flow of the filter, perfect for any fish). NOW, my question is when I'm I able to transfer him to his new home. I used all Betta water that they sell at petsmart and my sand is settle.
Thanks guys! Finally I can give my fish more space for him to swim. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1425781741.838259.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	126.1 KB
ID:	266684
__________________

__________________
briemol12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 10:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 254
Anyone???
__________________

__________________
briemol12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 10:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
KhloeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 182
Betta bowl to a 5.5 g tank (exciment)

hello! i just bought two of those tanks tonight for my bettas! i'm very excited to get them up and running! now for your question, i am pretty new to fishkeeping myself, haven't even been doing it a year, so i don't know if i'd really want to answer that and give you wrong info. i know that you probably know all about cycling wayy more than i do, but i'm not sure if your tank still has to cycle if you used that betta water. did you test the water out for any ammonia and stuff? not sure if your tank has been running with the water in it or not, so forgive me if you have it all figured out, lol! good luck with your new tanks!!
__________________
KhloeM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 10:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
I would let the tank cycle first so he doesn't have to endure the changing parameters. Go see if your LFS will lend you some seeded filter media or pad and put it in your filter to help the bacteria colonize.

Do you have a water test kit?


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 10:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by KhloeM View Post
hello! i just bought two of those tanks tonight for my bettas! i'm very excited to get them up and running! now for your question, i am pretty new to fishkeeping myself, haven't even been doing it a year, so i don't know if i'd really want to answer that and give you wrong info. i know that you probably know all about cycling wayy more than i do, but i'm not sure if your tank still has to cycle if you used that betta water. did you test the water out for any ammonia and stuff? not sure if your tank has been running with the water in it or not, so forgive me if you have it all figured out, lol! good luck with your new tanks!!

Betta water is basically just marketing of distilled water. Nothing special and doesn't help the tank cycle any faster.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 11:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by KhloeM View Post
hello! i just bought two of those tanks tonight for my bettas! i'm very excited to get them up and running! now for your question, i am pretty new to fishkeeping myself, haven't even been doing it a year, so i don't know if i'd really want to answer that and give you wrong info. i know that you probably know all about cycling wayy more than i do, but i'm not sure if your tank still has to cycle if you used that betta water. did you test the water out for any ammonia and stuff? not sure if your tank has been running with the water in it or not, so forgive me if you have it all figured out, lol! good luck with your new tanks!!

Yeah I saw your post but didn't know what tank you get. And I just set it up a couple of hours ago. And yes I already know everything about cycle. I actually have a 20g cycle :3 so I know how everything works. You have to let me see your tanks!
__________________
briemol12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 11:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImACoolguy View Post
I would let the tank cycle first so he doesn't have to endure the changing parameters. Go see if your LFS will lend you some seeded filter media or pad and put it in your filter to help the bacteria colonize.

Do you have a water test kit?


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS

This is the thing. Since I bought my fish I been using distiller water ... So my Betta is used to distill water. Maybe I am doing a mistake but he is healthy and happy and haven't notice anything wrong with him.
__________________

__________________
briemol12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
betta, bowl, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transitioning betta from bowl to 5G tank rbeland Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 10-14-2013 02:23 AM
Do I need to cycle a betta tank/bowl? Metalette Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 09-07-2009 01:05 PM
Cloudy Water & Hair/String Algae in Betta Bowl jeffnyc Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 06-17-2009 11:20 AM
Treating Ich in a Betta Bowl brainologist Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 03-06-2008 01:31 AM
Betta in a big bowl Neuve Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 08-27-2005 04:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×