Bio Load

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Psybuster

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 30 gallon tank and i currently have 4 Koi (3-4"). I was wondering if it would be ok to add 2 more Koi and maybe an Oto or 2, and some shrimp (cause I know shrimp have a bio load). I know there's a 1" fish per gallon, but it's just too generic of a rule.

I'm running a HOB filter and Filstar XP2 at about 5x rate.

i'm aware that they grow up to 2 feet, that's why i'm going to transport them into our backyard pond when they grow to 6 inches.

true but they can live in a wide range of temperature readings, i have my tank at around 78 degrees (that's hot cause it's scorching here in California) but plan to have it in the 70-75 range. Would maybe mixing with ghost shrimp be ok then?

yeh, that would be okay, but I bet those shrimp might get eaten as the koi grow. Actually, since you are keeping the temperature at a tropical level, you could keep other fish, but only if you are ready to do some cleaning. IMO, 30 gallons is fine for koi only (and only because they will be moved as they grow), but if you add other fish, you risk their health since the koi produce high amounts of ammonia. I'm not saying you can't, but I'd think you'd need to do 2 water changes a week and gravel vacume once a week to keep things clean. Just be aware.

i was afraid of that, i might have to consider a different plan, right now i got some hiding areas that moss provides that the koi can't get into and would be a great place for the shrimp to hide in, ehh i guess it's worth experimenting, since the shrimp is like 25 cents a piece.