Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-09-2004, 06:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Endgame319
Bioload too much?

I recently returned some fish, and my 25g is looking a little empty. Currently there is 8 tiger barbs, 2 serpae tetras, and a rainbow shark in there. I would like to get 4 more serpaes but I think it would be going overload bio-load wise. I have an aquaclear 150 filter and do once a week 25% water changes.
__________________

__________________
Cam
Endgame319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 06:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
IMO adding another filter makes your want more then possible. I'd also add a sponge prefilter on your intake tubes to increase the "good" bacteria colonies.
__________________

__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 06:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 582
I think you could do it if you keep up with your water changes. I have a pretty hefty fishload in my 30 gallon tank, but its heavily planted which helps a lot with the bio-filtration.

Consider a bio-wheel filter for good biological filtration.
__________________
Getting back into the hobby... restocking a 55 Gallon tank with peacock cichlids (currently housing 2 synodontis petricolas). Planning a complete overhaul of my 30 Gallon Oceanic Cube (currently housing a bristlenose pleco and a praecox rainbow).
Madame_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 07:01 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I say go ahead, because those serpaes will be so much happier. Keep on top of your water changes and follow the suggestions above, and it should work.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 07:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Erie, CO
Posts: 681
Filtration may not be a problem but I wonder if the fish will become more aggressive as tank space becomes more limited.
__________________
patryuji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 08:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Endgame319
The hood on my tank doesnt have room for another hob filter, are there any other options?
__________________
Cam
Endgame319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 08:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Erie, CO
Posts: 681
Sponge filter with an air pump and airline. Do you have a space under the hood for an airline to come in?
__________________
patryuji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 09:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
The best option would actually be a small cannister filter.
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 10:56 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
I agree with BrianNY.
Prior to the move up here, there were 22 fish (tetras, Bolivian rams, pleco…) in the 29 gal. (Oh, I forgot! Before that, we had the cichlids and catfish in there--14 fish [2-4” each] altogether using a Magnum 350 filter. 8O )
During the move, the Magnum broke and was replaced by a Fluval 104. Once up here, I had more bioload (8 assorted Cory Cats, Rubber Lip Pleco, 2 Bolivian Rams, 2 Kuhli Loaches, Butterfly Loach, 3 Silver-tip Tetras, 2 Serpae Tetra, young convict cichlid (growing), 2 clown loaches (growing), 2 brichardi (just visiting) and 4 assorted “rounder” Tetras) and did not lose any. The tank was at that capacity for a month--the brichardi were territorial (an impulse buy, which was quickly rectified). They are now all very happy in a 50 gal (except the 2 brichardi--who got their own biotope tank).

Okay, I may not be the brightest crayon in the box , but with a great filter and proper habitats (hiding places, natural wood, fake plants…) your fish will be just fine—all 15 of them.
__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 11:34 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Endgame319
I think i'll go with the sponge filter, should I get the Lustar Sponge filter #2 or #3? And what air-pump would I need to run it?
__________________

__________________
Cam
Endgame319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, bioload

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bioload from shrimp TheNamelessPoet Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 04-07-2009 07:04 PM
Counting Bioload Alshain Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-26-2006 11:04 AM
Bioload question. SeanMurphy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 12-09-2005 04:32 PM
Help with Bioload.. tjara03 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 11-25-2005 09:32 PM
Eel and Bioload SkinnyPete Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-15-2005 05:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.