Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-01-2003, 02:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

BioSpira Availability

Hi All...

I am starting up a new ten-gallon tank after a bit of a bad experience with a 2-gallon. After reading through the forum, I've decided that I would really like to use BioSpira instead of Cycle.

The problem? I live in Canada and have been totally unable to find BioSpira here. I have found US-based websites that will ship to Canada, but I'm a poor college student and can't afford the extra shipping and duty charges (they are up to about $20 USD, with is about $30 Cdn., on top of the product price and the regular shipping charge).

Does anyone know of any way to get BioSpira in Canada without ordering from a US site? The lfs in my area keep telling me that I don't need BioSpira, and should just use Cycle...but I'm unconvinced.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I live in Edmonton, Alberta and will be in Winnipeg, MB for the holidays.

Thanks!

Old 12-01-2003, 03:10 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to madasafish
No Cycle.... It doesn't work in my experience and in the experience of many others.

BioSpira is tough to find! Best bet is to give "Bernie" a PM and ask him... Have you seen his www.fishstoretn site yet? I'm guessing someone's referred you to the site already, though...

I'm a poor college student, too.... I hear ya.

Old 12-01-2003, 03:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

I did check out Bernie's site, but for one small bottle of BioSpira it would cost about $40-50 Cdn. for me...which is totally out of my price range. I guess because it has to be cold-packed, shipping from that far away will be out of my price range (I'm about an eight hour drive north of the Canada-US border).