Black Algae - sick of it - Redo entire tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jimsz

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a long established (8-9 years) 55 gal tank, live plants, eco complete for the base. Variety of fresh water fish, not overstocked. All water readings within normal ranges, lighting on for 4 hours a day, no direct sunlight. Fish fed every few days. No CO2.

I have been fighting black hair algae for a couple of years and just can't get rid of it. I am at the point to put the fish in a holding tank and get rid of all the plants, boil the few rocks and decorations, toss the eco and rebuild with new eco-complete, all new plants and the tank thoroughly scrubbed.

I use a canister filter and that media is established.

Am I approaching this properly? I am simply sick of the tank looking dirty because of the algae and I have tried all sort of ways to get rid of it and it keeps coming back.

Comments? Suggestions?

https://2047.org/fishvidfeed2019.html

I am curious what others input here.

I have a 10gal tank that seems to have the same issue. It’s not nearly as established as yours and I definitely am a newbie. But even if I stay super on top of water changes, this stuff slowly creeps back up every few months.

Hello jim...