Black Ghost Knife fish acts dead at the exact moment when lights come on!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

29Gsaltaquatics

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello, I am new to the "Aquarium Advice"
So now into the problem, I have a 3 inch black ghost knife fish in my 29 gallon tank, (I will switch him to a bigger tank someday) and I bought him a week ago along with a ghost tube. I heard to take out any hiding spots out of your tank so he learns to go into the tube. So I did and ever since that he acts dead when I turn the lights of, and doesn't move his anal fin and his pictorial fin just hangs out:(. He eats and doesn't have any tears in his fin. He changes color at night, to a shiny gray color, but only half of his body. (he is the biggest fish in the tank
Tank Mates are: 1 Small marbled angelfish, 1 dwarf gourami, 1 bristle nose pleco, and 1 dojo loach.
Known Parameters: Ammonia:0ppm Nitrite:0ppm, Nitrate:1ppm, Ph 6.9
dKH:3ppm, phosphates:0ppm.
So should I get a dark PVC pipe for a hiding spot, and give some hiding spots back. BTW I cycled my tank with Seachem Stability. I have done saltwater before so I know the newbie things. Thank You.

Not to sound preachy, but he needs to be moved sooner rather than later, to at least a 120g tank. 3 inches can quickly turn into 18 inches, and a 29g tank is way too small, sorry. Otherwise, I think it's behavior is because it's stressed. I would give it back some hiding spots.

In order to reach his full 18 inches requires five years.

I have a black ghost knife fish and is doing fine with lights on. Let him adjust to your tank surroundings. Mine took three days to come out from hiding and start eating. Now he is eating from surface without any shyness. I suggest you to train him for floating foods. In this way he will swim more.