Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-21-2004, 02:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 159
Send a message via MSN to prettyvacant
bought another 10 gal...

yesterday i bought another 10 gal tank. i already have one and a 29 gal which have been running for like a year and longer for the 10 gal. people on here have been telling me that i should really get a quarantine tank ( when i had the post about my sick mollies). someone suggested i just buy a 10 gal tank with a cheap heater and sponge filter. but i saw that buying a 10 gal kit was cheaper than buying stuff separately. anyway, now that i bought this, i think i want to use it as another tank for just platies ( since theyre so cute ) but i know i should seriously have a quarantine tank just to be safe... because this whole time i have been treating the whole tank while only 2 out of 23 fish are sick
so what should i do?? use it for new fish? or as a quarantine tank?? i know i should use it as a quarantine but im tempted to use it for more fishies
__________________

__________________
prettyvacant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 02:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to Psyhampster Send a message via Yahoo to Psyhampster
i say make it a QT tank.
__________________

__________________
Ryan

http://www.aquarank.com/images/users/1.gif Vote For Us!

20 gal FW
----------
2 Flame Blue Platies, 2 Micky Mouse Platies, 2 Flame Gold Platies, 1 German Blue Ram, 2 Yo-Yo Loaches

30 gal FW
--------

1 Marble Hatchet, 5 Silver Hatchets, 6 Zebra Danios, 2 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 Fancy Guppies, 1 Yo-Yo Loach
Psyhampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 02:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 493
I agree with Psyhampster. But when your not using it put it in the closet or somewhere where you won't look at it, so it doesn't become another tank for platies
__________________
10g - 3 Feeders, 1 Bolivian Ram, 1 Bluegill?
40 Breeder - Eastern Painted
50g Rubbermaid - Mississippi Map
I work at an LFS..
Todd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 02:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 159
Send a message via MSN to prettyvacant
ok fine :| lol i guess i will just ask for another tank for christmas lol :P
....so i see that most of you have quarantine tanks... so can you please give me advice on how to set this up? will i need gravel?...plants?... do i need to cycle this water? so if anyone has advice thankyou!

and thanx for the suggestions so far.
__________________
prettyvacant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 10:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,005
no gravel because it is easier to clean this way. fake plants or just some PVC pipe for a fish to hide in, don't worry about cycling because in a QT you are changing water so frequently because of meds, etc... that the cycle would be disrupted anyway... A filter with no carbon because carbon will remove meds from the water... I think that is it. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
rubysoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 07:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
A QT tank requires only the simplest of elements (i.e. tank, heater, filter). The filter should not use any carbon because that removes any meds you might be using from the water. Sponge filters work very well for this. You could also have some plastic plants and decorations to make the fish feel comfortable. A light is useful but not absolutely necessary. Do not use any substrate because this will make it harder to clean and disinfect the tank when you break it down. I would also recommend having a separate net and siphon for use only in the QT tank. That way you don't risk spreading any diseases to your other tank(s).
__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 07:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
You will find yourself more versatile with a QT/ Hostipal tank.

eg With new setups, treating fish not whole tanks etc.
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 06:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 159
Send a message via MSN to prettyvacant
okie thanx for the help so a few more questions:
- how often will i have to clean this tank? im sure i would after medicating, but what about when i just put my new fish in there for like 2 weeks when i first buy them?
- i think i read somewhere that you should fill the QT with water from an established tank...is this true?
- how will the plastic plants stay if there isnt any gravel? lol
- and when i clean this tank, will i take out all of the water or 50% or 20%....

thanx
__________________
prettyvacant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 06:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 601
Plant weights are available at the LFS.. even chain stores. Some plastic plants don't float, they're weighted at the base, I've discovered.. very nice of their creators to do that.
__________________
Corty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2004, 12:18 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
Some people like to run a small air driven sponge filter in an existing tank so it is cycled and ready to go. This only works if the medication doesn't kill the bacteria or it is being used as a QT.

I would run a sponge filter in an existing tank for QT purposes only and have a second sponge filter for when it is a hospital tank.

If it is a QT situation just fill with tap water de-chlor and your precycled filter. Presto.

If it is a hospital, 50% tank water is like a water change (and often water changes are part of the routine when treating disease).

If no matter what you use the tank for I would give it a good clean each time you use it. That way there are no nasty suprises next time you need it.

HTH
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2004, 01:36 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
Re: bought another 10 gal...

Quote:
Originally Posted by prettyvacant
yesterday i bought another 10 gal tank.... i know i should use it as a quarantine but im tempted to use it for more fishies
LOL! This is how MTS usually starts! You buy a 10 gal for use as a Q/H tank and end up turning it into another show tank. Then, because you still need a QT, you go out and buy another 10 gal. And the vicious cycle continues until you have an entire wall of pretty 10 gal tanks!

I would be firm with yourself and set up this tank for use ONLY to quarrantine new fish or treat sick ones. This is a real, critical need that shouldn't be ignored. However, if you think mollies are cute, go get another 10 gal for them (if you have the room). Fortunately, 10 gal setups are cheap. Just be wary of most 10 gal kits - the included heater is usually cruddy and the lighting is inadequate for most plants.

I keep my Q/H tank barren except for a few plastic plants and resin ornaments I can boil. Keep in mind that most medications permanently stain the silicone and tank ornaments blue. I like the idea of keeping a sponge filter going in an established tank, so you are ready to quarrantine new fish without worrying about a cycle. I use Penguin Mini filters and have a few extra biowheels floating around my established tank - same concept, really.
__________________

__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just bought a 65 Gal! A few questions?! Is Xp3 relibale? Alchemy129 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 02-23-2007 08:10 AM
I just bought a 125 gal. tank. NEED HELP SETING UP! scotth Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-10-2006 11:29 AM
Need Help updating 120 gal tank just bought - Newbie!! Iguana Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 07-13-2006 08:16 PM
Look what I bought for $47.10 gilraen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-16-2005 09:52 AM
bought a house, now re-cycling my 90 gal, need fact check Trumper Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 02-19-2005 10:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×