Brackish Tank with Black Mollies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Eanor321

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All,

I am new to keeping fish but I have a 60 litre tank set up with brackish water, eventually I am looking to get some Indian Dwarf Mudskippers in it so it is set up 1/2 land 1/2 water.

A couple of days ago I brought 2 Black Mollies to live in the water and 3 hours after getting them home one gave birth! So now there are 2 adults (I'm fairly certain the other is a male) and at least 9 babies.

Not being set up for babies this soon they are living in the main tank, however they are doing fine, the adults seem to ignore them. I have purchased a ground flaked food for the babies and have continued with the adding of bacteria (on the advice of my LFS) but does anyone have any advice for me? It will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
:thanks:

If you are still cycling the fry might not make it trough..however, I find that most molly fry are born too big to be eaten my their mother so they have a chance, I'd just keep on cycling and if they don't make it, you'll have your chance again soon enough :p good luck with the mudskippers, I've always wanted some :)

Female Mollies don't normally eat their own young, although they may eat the young of other females in the tank!

Thanks for the advice. They were an added bonus when we brought the adults so if they don't survive then that's cool. Just don't want it to be something we do that causes it is all. Thanks, will let you know how we get on with the mudskippers as soon as we can source some. Got one LFS looking and another who might be able to get some in a few weeks. :)