Bristlenose pleco

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elaine5182

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have recently got a bn pleco (yesterday) and since then it has been hiding under the rock. Am used to crazy active fish like danios and guppies so am frustrated this isn't moving.
I've read on different websites you can feed them cucumber, spinach and green beans am I right in thinking that I can cut up a small piece of cucumber and feed the plec?? What would this do to my tank readings and other fish though?? I have 5 danios and 9 guppies.

Many thanks in advance

I'm new to bn plecos too. When I feed any greens I leave them in over night and if there's any left in the morning I take it out so it dosent foul the water. I haven't to date had any problems with my water quality so it can't be that bad.

all plecos are very shy especially when they are first introduced to a tank.give it a while and it'll come out more often. most people feed them greens by tieing them to rocks and sinking the rock once he seems to be done eating it you just remove the rock

Blanched peas work well, but guppies like them too !
Put a couple of shelled/blanched peas in just before your 'light's-out', no need to tie down, they will sink anyway. Drop to front of tank and hopefully you will entice your BN pleco out.

Cucumber and zucchini work best. Make sure you have a nice peice of driftwood in the tank for it too! :)

edit: also they appreciate it if you blanch the veg a bit for them first.

I just got a bristlenose yesterday too! but, it is an albino. Mine isn't shy though, I am actually wondering if it can possibly eat to much algae...

I wouldn't of thought so. Mine are pretty active little critters. They are doing just fine so much so it looks like iv got a male and female pairing up lol