Brown Algae Eaters?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shaloric7

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've got an outbreak of brown algae...It's on the glass and the decorations, including the silk plants. Will anything eat this, or do I just need to clean it off?

:thanks:

Otos will eat it. They can be a little hard to acclimate, depending on where you get them. They prefer to be in schools, as opposed to just getting 1 for algae duty. And you'll want to look into other foods for when the algae gets scarce. e.g. blanched zucchini, algae tabs (if you can get them to eat it), etc.

Hard to acclimate? Are they sensitive? I'm pretty new to the aquarium scene.

It's a matter of getting them through the first month, particularly that first week. Once you're over that hurdle, they should last a long time.

I've read different things about why they can be so fragile during this time period. They're shipped all over by the time they arrive in the LFS. The LFS has these clean tanks with no algae to eat and they're not all that keen on wafers. By the time you get them home, they're starving. And I also read there is a bacteria in their gut to help them process the algae the eat. But it can die off. So even if they get to munching on the algae, it may not be digestible to them any more.

Not sure. All I know is I got 6 a while back and only one lived out of that bunch. I just got a few more today from online (Gunpowder Aquatics). These look a lot better than my first purchase. They're a little bigger. They're schooling together and not hiding. I've got higher hopes for these guys.

Get a plecostomus, they are bottom feeders, theyll just eat all the algae