Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-07-2006, 07:14 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
can i add fish now?

HI all. I was wondering when i will be able to add more fish in.

Here are my test result:

nitrate: 20

nitrite: 0

pH: 8.4 (my water is hard here)


I've had it set up for 4 weeks now. I wanted to know if I could get my new fish next week. I wanted to get my 4 platies next. What do ya'll think?


My new filter seems to be working wonderfully!!! The Whsiper 30-60 gal. double canister HOB filter works great!!

TIA
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 07:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
I am assuming your ammonia is 0 as well? If so you can add fish right away. If not wait until it is 0.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,020
Send a message via Yahoo to jcarlilesiu
Keep in mind that when a cycle is complete, and you remove what ever was producing ammonia in the tank, or stop adding ammonia, not getting fish in there will cause the bacteria you just built to die off. Either keep dosing until you get fish or get fish right away.

Usually when I cycle a tank, Ill leave the raw shrimp in the tank until the day before I go to get fish. Right before I go to the store to get fish, I do a water change and Im good to go.
jcarlilesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 10:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Reading between the lines (and your signature), I am going to guess you started with a few fish to cycle the 29 gal tank, and now that things are zero, you want to add more? Remember to add stock slowly, so as not to get ahead of your still developing bio-filter. But if you started with 3 zebra danios in a 29 gal, and things are stable and no ammonia or nitrite, then I think 4 platies is OK. I would wait one to two weeks after the platies before adding more, again to let your bio-filter continue to grow. Your choice of zebras and Platy are good for new tanks, both species are hardy enough to tolerate unsuspected rough spots in a cycle. Then I would add the the remaining danios (to free up your QT), the cories, and the gourami last. All spaced one to two weeks apart.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 10:55 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thank you Tom. I did cycle with the 2 zebras. I was planning on transfering the 4 zebras in my Q tank into my main tank(the Q tank was set up at the same time as 29). I then was getting the platies to Q them(my LFS also Q's them). Then adding the fish slowly to the Q tank then the 29. TIA!

Is this an alright procedure? thanks!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 09:26 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Sure. you could put the zebras in the 29, then the platies in the QT. This way your QT says full as you stock the 29. It makes a lot of sense to do it that way.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 10:30 AM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks! i'm planning to get the platies next week!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to know when i can add more fish ? Derdy88 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 09-05-2008 09:25 PM
I want to add fish...but what to add? megos1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 10-17-2006 10:58 AM
Almost ready to add fish. Beginner fish suggestions? runway1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-19-2005 10:54 PM
Can I add 2 fish at once? MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-16-2004 07:38 PM
Okay to add more fish yet? DragonChild Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-12-2004 02:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.