Can Neon or Cardinal tetras be kept in hard water?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XimeD

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi all, I am a newbie to this hobby and have had my 20g tank set up for 2.5 months, after crappy advice at the LFS and great advice here it is finally cycling :D

I went the cycling with fish route because I didnt know any better and I also got fish that will eventually get too big for my tank, I am planning on getting a 55g when that happens hopefully 8 mo - 1 year.

Here's what I have in my tank right now:
2 giant danios (2in and 1.5in)
1 pleco (2in)
2 red tail tinfoil barbs (2 in and 2.5in)

Here's my water parameters:
ammonia - 0.50ppm
nitrite - 0.25ppm
nitrate - around 7ppm
pH - 7.4
Temp - 76F
kH - 100ppm (6 drops on the API test kit)
gH - 200 - 400ppm (18 drops on the API test kit)

ammonia. nitrite and nitrates should have gone down since I just did a 30% PWC. I live in socal so my tap water is pretty hard, I have access to DI water (I work in a research lab) but it is very cumbersome to carry the buckets from work to home.

I loooove cardinal tetras and would like to have some (maybe 5 or 6) but I read that they need soft acidic water. Ive also read about keeping the water params constant sometimes being better than messing with a lot of additives.

Also I have read mixed things about keeping tetras with barbs.

So here are my questions (on a side note I will be waiting until my tank is fully cycled before adding any fish, just wanted to start geeting some ideas):
1) Can I keep either neon or cardinal tetras (preferably cardinals) with my current tank occupants?

2) Is it even possible that they can adjust to my water hardness levels so I don't have to mess with more additives to my tank (which is lightly planted - some swords and anubias only) or tap water....