Can you have a pleco and 2 chichlids in a 20 gallon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Plecostomus129

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a plecostomus in a 5 gallon tank (yes, I know that is way to small) and I am thinking about getting a 20 gallon with some chichlids. Would that be enough for my fish?

I'm not very experienced but I hear that Pleco need a 55 gallon(i don't believe it though)

I'm not very experienced but I hear that Pleco need a 55 gallon(i don't believe it though)

Believe it. a common pleco needs at least a 55g min at max size. Being as they can reach 20 inches. Mine was 15 1/2 before I got rid of him and a 55 was pushing it. At that size they are just waste factories.

Bristle nose plecos, rubber lips and clown plecos are a better choice then the common pleco

Problem is, I have a 5 gallon. ( no its not a typo) and 20 gallon is max for the amount of space I have. Would that be ok? My teacher a few years ago had one in that situation for multiple years, and it is fine with 2 African chichlids.

Problem is, I have a 5 gallon. ( no its not a typo) and 20 gallon is max for the amount of space I have. Would that be ok? My teacher a few years ago had one in that situation for multiple years, and it is fine with 2 African chichlids.

African cichlids need 55 gals +. They get big and need lots of swimming room. Depending on the pleco it needs 30-125 gallons.

African cichlids need 55 gals +. They get big and need lots of swimming room. Depending on the pleco it needs 30-125 gallons.

Well is it possible that I could add a few neon tetras? I would like more to look at since my pleco is never out in the day.