Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-12-2014, 10:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
Can you overplant?

Can you over plant an aquarium?
__________________

__________________
edmcq198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 10:51 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 58
You can pack plants too closely together, so they don't get enough light. Otherwise nutrients can be increased to deal with any plant load. I've had a tank I had to dose potassium nitrate on top of a normal fert regiment since it had a small fish load, high light, and Co2 injection.
__________________

__________________
militantpotato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 11:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Nope. It just requires more planning and pruning if you have more plants. My old tank for example.
http://i.imgur.com/2atNSJxh.jpg
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 03:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
No. But if the aquarium is only full of plants and there's no places for fish, then that will be a plant tank, not a fish tank ^.^.

I'm dosing CO2 in my tank, it was looking like this there was 3-4 months:


Fish have enough space to swim, so it's ok. When you have bright light and this amount of plants, you must ensure they have enough ferts and CO2 or they'll starve.

Video of my tank + maintenance:
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 03:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,847
Planted Tanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by edmcq198 View Post
Can you over plant an aquarium?
Hello ed...

You can. Plants that need to go into the bottom material need room for healthy root growth. If you keep roughly three inches of room between the plants, this should be sufficient, so the plants aren't crowded. Trim the tops periodically so the light isn't blocked off from neighboring plants. Trim off dead or yellowing leaves too. You don't want the plant working to maintain a dead or dying leaf.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 03:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello ed...

You can. Plants that need to go into the bottom material need room for healthy root growth. If you keep roughly three inches of room between the plants, this should be sufficient, so the plants aren't crowded. Trim the tops periodically so the light isn't blocked off from neighboring plants. Trim off dead or yellowing leaves too. You don't want the plant working to maintain a dead or dying leaf.

B
When the substrate is filled with ferts tabs, the root system doesn't need to be so big... I have a lot of crypts, they're all together in the same spots, never I saw a dead leave. Maybe this could be a problem in a poor nutrient substrate...
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 03:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvincent View Post
When the substrate is filled with ferts tabs, the root system doesn't need to be so big... I have a lot of crypts, they're all together in the same spots, never I saw a dead leave. Maybe this could be a problem in a poor nutrient substrate...
Agreed, it would be awful trying to carpet with root feeders if they had to be 3 inches apart.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 04:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
Agreed, it would be awful trying to carpet with root feeders if they had to be 3 inches apart.
Dwarf hairgrass or HC lol. Hey Mebbid, do you have pictures of your tanks ? You seems pretty much active on the forum...
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 05:21 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: West Yorkshire, England
Posts: 1,295
Can you overplant?

A well planted aquarium is a joy. Mine is heavily planted and the fish choose to hang out in the quiet planting or join the main throng if the tank. This is my first Successfully planted tank and fish seem to love it, shrimp too. I like not being to see all the fish all time except at feeding time. I do remove a lot of plant once a month to keep a reasonable swiping area. I see some tanks on here and wonder at why they are so sparsely planted.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
ScotJudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 05:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvincent View Post
Dwarf hairgrass or HC lol. Hey Mebbid, do you have pictures of your tanks ? You seems pretty much active on the forum...
Alas, the only tank that I am able to keep as nice as I want is my reef tank. Both of my planted tanks have gone downhill since I started nursing school since I just don't have the time or energy to keep up with their demands.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plant

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Things you wish you knew about freshwater fish that you know now Kstauch Aquaria Off-Topic 37 06-17-2012 04:41 PM
How often do you clean your Filter? Do you alternate if you have multiple filters? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-22-2011 12:06 AM
Online site that can help you determine how much fish you can have in your tanks yhbae Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 34 10-27-2009 11:42 AM
Can you use PVC Pipe? And how to clean it to add to you tank newcomer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 08-25-2003 11:27 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×