Canister vs HOB Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mikeyost12

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone, I am by no means a expert on fish keeping and had a 55G tank stocked with gold fish for about 4 years. I recently switched over to more tropical freshwater fish and because of my in experience, had terrible results, loosing all of my fish except my Danios and my Albino Cats.
I bought an API Mast Test Kit 3 days ago and my initial reading came out 7.8PH, Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 160 (out of this world). I immediately did a 70% water change and ran the same test two days ago (Day 2). That reading was 7.8PH, Ammonia climbed to .25, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 30-40 (Better there). I did another water change, this time about 50% and ran more test today. My readings today was 7.8PH, Ammonia still at .25, Nitrite 0, Nitrate closer to the 40 mark. I did notice 2 of my fish had Ick so my tank is being medicated right now (I did not do a water change today. I am going to do a 25% change tomorrow and add more medication into the tank.)

So with all of that being said, I am currently running a Emperor 400 for my filtration and although it is a good filter, I feel like with more media in a Canistar filter I may be better off....... My only source of water is well water also. I have been looking at various filters online and the one I am leaning towards is the Fluval 406.

Am I accurate on going to a canister filter? Pros and Cons? My numbers seem to fluctuate on me, will a canister filter help stabilize my parameters? Is the Fluval 406 a good one to purchase? (Once I figure out exactly what I am doing with keep steady water quality I would like to upgrade to a 75G tank, would this filter work on that size tank also?)

I appreciate all of your help