Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-22-2008, 12:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cogburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: bangor, pa
Posts: 492
cannister filters...

im gonna sound like an idiot here... but... do cannister filters require you to have an overflow in your tank? im just curious how the cannister filters work... im assuming you would need 2 overflows one inlet one outlet... ive decided on a 120 gal. cuz it fits the 4ft wall im gonna put it in front of... i was thinking of getting a fluval cannister filter instead of hob's... but im not entirely sure how they work... enlighten me oh wise ones... thanks in advance...

-Larry
__________________

__________________
cogburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
A cannister (at least my Fluval) works through siphoning water down, and pumping it back up. The cannister has to be below the water level, but only the end of the hose has to be in the water. It creates a vaccuum in the canister that "sucks" the water down as the pump pushes the water in the canister up into the tank. No need for an overflow.

I hope that makes sense.
__________________

__________________
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cogburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: bangor, pa
Posts: 492
yep thats what i needed to know... well thats good... but what is the point of overflows then? im really unsure about them...
__________________
cogburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
Does anyone use an overflow on a FW tank? I have only heard of them being used in SW.
__________________
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:46 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cogburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: bangor, pa
Posts: 492
ill just retract my question... i guess im an idiot
__________________
cogburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
No, quite alright! I don't know the answer either... That's why I posed the question.
__________________
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 01:52 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
I belive that overflows are generally used with a sump. Some people do use sumps on FW, but it's much more common with SW.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 01:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
An overflow is used with a sump system. The water flows down to a sump and the is pumped back into thre tank. The overflow helps avoid accidents if the power stops to the pump.
__________________
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 01:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cogburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: bangor, pa
Posts: 492
dually noted... the tank i order will not have overflows...
__________________
cogburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 35
Are cannisters useful for SW or are they used mainly for FW?
__________________
Latitude_change is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:36 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tired of the mod power plays; gone to another forum
Posts: 266
mainly FW, though I use them on my SW since I already had one. Most SW will take the coarse filter out and fill it with live rock. It comes in handy to run certain media if needed and adds flow to the tank. Sumps are all the rage in the SW world but there are still a few rebels out there
__________________
tawolcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:37 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cogburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: bangor, pa
Posts: 492
hahahaha rebels... thats great... thanks so much for answering my questions guys...
__________________
cogburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:46 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I use cannisters in my SW set ups. I like them because I can add filter media if needed like purigen or phosban or GAC. Some SW folks go the skimmer route with a sump/fuge. I don't run skimmers but I do run cannisters. I don't know too much about FW.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:09 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 35
I am running a sump and skimmer, but I was just wondering if a cannister would also help out.
__________________
Latitude_change is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:27 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tired of the mod power plays; gone to another forum
Posts: 266
If you already have one then why not use it. or sell it to me
__________________
tawolcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:49 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I have seen sumps on FW tanks before using a trickle method filter.

SW tanks - hmm...I don't use canisters on my tank and I have only used GAC 1 time so far in nearly 3 years. I am one of those "all the rage" guys in that I have an oversized fuge (20g on a 72g tank) and a multistage sump system. I also have a very large skimmer. I try and keep my system as natural as possible. I picked up a phosban reactor for using GAC when fragging a specific coral still in the tank.

Anyway, canisters = FW sumps/fuges skimmers = SW. Those rebels will come around sooner or later. LOL
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 04:06 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pitt420dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh! Home of the 6 Time Superbowl Champs!
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via AIM to pitt420dude
I've successfully used a skimmer, overflow, and sump for a FW tank for 4 years now.

The only reason I'm getting rid of it is because it's offgassing all my CO2.
__________________
Thank you so much for all your help. I'm back into the hobby with a new vigor!

LOOK! A NEW LEAF!!!!!
pitt420dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 04:07 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Now that is a new one for me. How does a skimmer perform on a FW tank?
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 05:11 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
Sump systems are also "all the rage" amoung serious goldfish keepers <and also in koi ponds.> I have used one for the last 3 years or so .... and I am not that rebellous!

I always read that protein skimmers don't work in FW due to different water tension ... maybe that's also a myth?
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 05:22 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tired of the mod power plays; gone to another forum
Posts: 266
I'm guessing he might be referring to a surface skimmer....

and you goldies have always been oooooouuttt there
__________________

__________________
tawolcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cannister, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media for 2 cannister filters jazmine Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-30-2009 05:41 AM
New To Cannister Filters dalero Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-30-2008 11:47 AM
The low-down on cannister filters moose9 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-06-2006 05:34 PM
Cannister Filters and other things caudelfin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 09-01-2005 11:24 PM
Yet another question, cannister filters..... Zagz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 08-31-2005 05:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×