Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-22-2011, 11:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Can't keep fish alive...Help!

I set up a new aquarium several months ago and so far I've lost 9 fish and only have one left alive. I'm new at this so I'm not sure what the problem is. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

I have a 40 gallon freshwater tank with a Marineland Penguin Biowheel 350B filter. I have a heater and keep the tank temp at 78 - 79 degrees. I do not have an air stone so I rely on the filter for water movement. Should I add an air stone to oxygenate the water? My current test results are: GH 120, KH 80, pH 6.5, Nitrite 0.5 and Nitrate 20. I do 20% water changes every 3 weeks.