Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2013, 09:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stagerlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern California
Posts: 43
Changing substrate

I'm bumping up one of my tanks from 10 to 20 gal. I'm thinking of changing from pool filter sand to black sand. Even though I have let the bio wheel for the new filter soak in the existing tank and going to use some of the water from old to new tank would I be losing to much of the beneficial bacteria by changing the substrate?
__________________

__________________
stagerlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:35 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,918
You will lose some but you should be fine. I would just run the old filter on the new tank for a couple of weeks until the new filter has time to build up bb in it.
__________________

__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
For quick cycling the new tank, just put the old filter to the new tank. Cycle established, boom.

Wait for 2-3 weeks for the new filter to cycle.
Wait 2-3 weeks before adding new fishs, as your cycled filter is cycled for the load that was in your 10g.
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 07:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,432
As long as you are using the same filter and it is already cycled, the tank should be instantly cycled. Not that much bacteria is in the substrate. Most of it is in the filter.
__________________
wildroseofky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 09:47 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stagerlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern California
Posts: 43
Thanks everyone , I appreciate your help. I think I'll run both filters at the same time for a week or so
__________________
stagerlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×