Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-31-2004, 05:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 748
changing water without changing temperature

I'm sorry but this is going to be a long boring post.

I have a 29gal tank and do weekly PWC. I'm concerned about the change in temperature when I add cold water to the tank. My local water supply is supposed to have lots of pesticides and fertilizers in it. Because of this all of the water I put in the tank goes through the 1st 3 stages (activated carbon) of my RO system. The RO system taps straight into the cold water under the sink. So I have only cold water to add to the aquarium. I have tried a few different ways to avoid temperature shocking the fish.

1. nuking some of the water to bring up the temperature. This takes a lot of work and time, and just didn't seem to work very well.

2. adding only a little water at a time. This seems to work decent but leaves the tank half finished for most of Saturday. And I try to leave the water out for a few hours to get up to room temperature. Especially with winter coming (it snowed this morning) room temperature is somewhat less than the tank temperature.

I would like to buy an inline heater and power head (or pump). Then I could heat up a bucket full of water and then pump it straight into the aquarium - this is also easier than trying to pour a bucket into the tank without disturbing it. But this would cost more than my wife is willing to let me spend.

Does anyone else have any ideas for this problem? And my other question is how large of a change in tank temperature is OK? Will only 2 degrees even affect the fish?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
hashbaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 06:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 272
Should have read your post properly! soz....

Cheers Shelton.
__________________

__________________
30gal tank, 20kgs Fiji + 4kgs Madagascan LR, bare bottom, 2 x Maxijets 900, AquaC Remora skimmer, 10W D&D UV using a spraybar on surface for return,Maxijet 600 + spraybar behind LR, Ecco 2234 running RowaPhos/GAC, 150w visitherm.
Custom Built lid; 2 x T5 megatwin (4x39W Aquablue+); 4 moonlights.

IKS with temp & PH probes, controlling lights,heat & cooling fans.


Percula Clown; Banggai Cardinal; Firefish; Mandarin
2 Cleaner Shrimps; 3 Peppermint Shrimps; 1 Blood Shrimp
1 Large Feather Duster; 1 Hard Tube Coco Worm; Yellow Cucumber.
6 Red Legged Hermits; 1 Green Emerald Crab; 16 Dwarf Blue Leg Hermits; 3 Zebra Hermits; 3 Popsock Hermits
22 Turbo/Astrae Snails; 20 IO Snails
Shultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 06:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
I would contact your water company and ask for a lab report and chemical analysis. You just might be stressing yourself for nothing.
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 06:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 748
That is an excellent idea Brian! I will have to find out that kind of information. I just remembered once putting the buckets in a hot bathtub. It worked pretty well but I was worried about getting bathroom cleaning chemicals on the aquarium buckets. I think drying off the outsides before dumping them in the aquarium should solve that problem. I think this is what I will do from now on (depending on what the water company analysis has to say).
__________________
hashbaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 07:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Corona Ca.
Posts: 515
Ipurchased a stainless steel soup pot that holds about 3 1/2 gals. It only takes a few minutes to bring the water up to tank temp. The pot is only used for the aquariums.
__________________
Doran Hayes
BASSNMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 09:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central New York
Posts: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to Scooby
I use RO water in all my tanks and my water is normally quite cold....I have a 30 gal plastic drum that I transfer the RO water into with a 300w submersable heater. The water comes up to temp in no time and simply pump the water from the drum to the tank.

Just a thought.you might want to give it a try........

Dave
__________________

__________________
Scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, temperature

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing water jester Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 12-08-2004 01:18 PM
When changing water what should I.... Mofo2713 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-18-2004 09:43 AM
changing water Rmferber Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 07-22-2004 12:48 AM
Changing water nguyen27 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 04-16-2004 10:57 PM
water changing Mephistopheles Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-28-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.