Cloudy tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Txjess

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I'm new to aquariums. I have successfully kept betas off and on for several years, and then I was asked to take in 5 guppies from a friend with over active breeders. Love the guppies, or my little beagle fish. I know I am over feeding, and that's changing now. But on to my problem...

I added 2 corys to the 5 happy guppies to round out a 5 gallon tank (established 8 weeks ago) 2 weeks ago. At the time water was slightly cloudy but I thought no big deal. A few days later it was not any better but it was time for a water change so I changed about 40% hoping to clear problem up, based upon Internet research. (I purchase my aquarium water from a small reputable pet store, as my tap water is awful) let's just say that didn't help. I have changed water every few days since then which hasn't helped. Figured out my gravel vac wasn't functioning properly and now that's un plugged. I completed a 30% change with vac last night and things were about the same until I got home today.... Tank is much worse and I'm staring to notice stress on my corys. I'm out of testing equipment and water so I'm headed to the store tomorrow, but what's the deal?

I know I'm not doing a lot of things right, but I'm determined to learn. I want a much larger aquarium in the near future, but I need to figure this one out first!

Help!

Before we can start giving you advice, what are the levels of your nitrite, ammonia and nitrate?