Cloudy tank! Oh noes!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Somethingclever

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have had my tank set up for a month/month and a half. Randomly it gets cloudy for a couple days then stops. It recently started again yesterday and it's bugging me. The fish seem to still be fine but it just looks bad. And i have noooooo idea what my ammonia or anything is as i am a noob and have yet to buy the test kits (which im going to buy friday) . Any ideas?

First you really need your test kit. Second is to do PWC of at least 30% every other day since you have fish. At this point it'd really all u can do. If you have some one with a tank nearby ask fror some of there BB from there filter.

Somethingclever said:
I have had my tank set up for a month/month and a half. Randomly it gets cloudy for a couple days then stops. It recently started again yesterday and it's bugging me. The fish seem to still be fine but it just looks bad. And i have noooooo idea what my ammonia or anything is as i am a noob and have yet to buy the test kits (which im going to buy friday) . Any ideas?

Aquariums tend to do that from time to
Time... As long as it clears up and your fish are ok u shouldn't worry... It's probably a bacterial bloom. You should purchase you an API master test kit to keep a watch on your parameters... U may not be cycled

Thanks for the advice. I do water changes (about 25%) a couple times a week. Every time i put in new water i add dechlorinator.

Your definitely, not cycled at this point in time. It will average from 6 weeks and up to start seeing small changes in your NO3. If you have a LFS they will test your water for free most of the time.