Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 12-19-2005, 12:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 84
Clown Loach Nitrate?

I would be grateful if someone could tell me the maximum amount of Nitrate Clown Loaches can survive at. 25ppm?

The reason why I ask is my nitrates get to about that then I do a water change once a week. Is this acceptable for a day or so?

Ammonia and Nitrite are bearly being registered with tests.

Thanks in advance.

We are a secretive bunch.
FishFingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 12:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,020
Send a message via Yahoo to jcarlilesiu
I have a clown loach, previously in a 10 gal. now housed in a 56 gallon, and he was happy in nitrates around .30 PPM prior to the move. once even reaching 40 PPM... now I have him in the 56 gallon and the nitrates are about about .05 PPM. I would say .25 is acceptable, although nitrates can add stress to your fish, and being that the loach is scaleless, high readings can be more hurtful to it. thats just my opinon of course

jcarlilesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 11:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Zagz's Avatar

POTM Champion
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Nitrates if possible should be 20 ppm or less. Nitrite mind you should be 0 ppm.
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 02:34 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
Devilishturtles's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I agree with Zagz. The nitrate level in my tank normally stays around 15 or 20 ppm ,and the clown loaches are just fine. High nitrates will slow the growth of the fish as well, which is likely why my Loaches have not grown as quickly as they could.

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote

clown, clown loach, loach, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
clown loach lmul Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 06-15-2009 09:07 AM
clown loach still gone tropicfishman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 08-22-2006 11:57 AM
Should I get a clown loach?? switchfoot Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-24-2006 06:48 PM
Clown loach or YoYo loach cougargirl50 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 12-28-2005 09:19 AM
New clown loach jrp1588 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 08-21-2005 09:41 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.