Companion Fish for BA Tetras

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shaloric7

Aquarium Advice Regular
What are some fish I can put in with my eight Buenos Aires tetras? Maybe something with a bit of color...Easy to maintain as I'm a beginner. I tried a bristlenose pleco but the little guy went missing. 36 gallon tank.

:thanks:

Bolivian ram for a bottom dweller or praecox rainbow as another middle swimmer. Both are beautiful. You could also try gouramis. They are absolutely gorgeous but a bit sickly. Finally, runny nose tetras would make a beautiful school, but they are small.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

u could also go for german blues, cory catfish, gourami, a betta, or even a gourami. But first have your water tested before you do anything.

OK! Of all those listed, which are the hardiest and least likely to be bullied?

:thanks:

Bolivian rams are tough and hold their own. I only keep one, but have found it remarkably hardy. The rainbow fish are probably a little less tough in terms of attitude, but they are much prettier if you have a dark substrate and are far more active. Both are very hardy, healthy, and easy to keep. If you like rams (check out some pics and vids to see), Bolivians are great in terms of ease of care. They are much easier to keep than any other ram. They also have cool personalities. My wife loves ours, and she doesn't even care about fish. :)

Are you looking for a middle swimmer, more active (Praecox rainbow), or a bottom dweller, tough and full of personality (Bolivian ram)?

I should also say if you want a smaller schooler with beautiful coloring and very hardy/compatible with your BAs, the rummy nose would be a great choice. They don't look great against a beige or tan substrate, though. If you have dark substrate, they POP.