Conflicting Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Love_MyFish

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok! Help me out here. I have a 29 gallon tank with gravel, running a tetra ex 70- 3 stage filter, 4 live plants, 3 swordtails, a rainbow shark, clown loach, 4 snails, and 4 tetras. I thought I had cycled but now that I have my master test my reading are, 2/1/11 PH- 7.6 HRPH 7.4 Ammonia 8 NI 0 NA 0... 50% water change. 2/2/11 PH 7.6 HRPH 7.4 Ammonia 4 NI 0 NA 0... 2 50% water changes. 2/3/11 PH 7.6 HRPH 7.4 Ammonia <2 NI 0 NA 0... agian 2 50% water changes. 2/4/11 PH 7.6 HRPH 7.4 Ammonia 1 NI 0 NA 0... My questions are...

1) Some people are saving the 50% WC will kill the good bacteria, well???

2) what can I do to help the Aquarium along?

3) Any other Advice?

I would keep doing 50% water changes until you get your ammonia down to 0.25ppm. Above that level is potentially dangerous for your fish. Doing water changes will not kill the good bacteria, the bacteria is on your substrate, decor, filter media, etc. The bacteria does not reside in the water column so doing water changes does not do any harm.

I'm sure some others have already told you but your clown loach will probably get too big for a 29g. I have one that a co-worker kept in a 20g long tank and it stunted the growth of the clown. I have had it in my 30g long for almost 2 years and it hasn't grown at all. It eats like a pig and is very active but hasn't grown at all.

+1 on continuing the 50% PWCs. Your ammonia level has come down, but it still has a bit to go. Ammonia at the high levels you've been experiencing will eventually lead to fish loss if not taken care of.

Even 0.25ppm is toxic...it just takes longer to damage/kill the fish than a higher concentration would. There is no amount of ammonia that is safe for prolonged exposures.