Converting from saltwater to freshwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Steptoe

Aquarium Advice Newbie
HI, newbie here. Quick question.

I currently have a 50 gallon saltwater tank. Unfortunatley all the fish have died. I believe this was due to the protein skimmer not working properly. Anyway, saltwater is expensive, so have decided to switch to freshwater. Had one many years ago, so got some experience.
My question is: Can I use the old saltwater filter on the new freshwater tank? I would obviously give it a jolly good cleaning and replace the old filtration pads. What would be the best method for cleaning, I have heard not to use bleach, so was thinking of giving it a right good scrub. Would that surfice?

Also would it be better to use real plants or plastic?

Has anybody got any suggestions as to the brand of test kits one should buy, ones available in Germany.

Just thought of another question, sorry. Can I use the old saltwater bulbs, lighting, in the new freshwater tank. Or are they too powerfull?

Hello,
Sad to hear what happened to your fish, and I'm happy you came back to freshwater, as it truly is wonderful and has it's pro's and con's(That you will certainly enjoy!). If it's just a normal filter, then it work's aswell!:D
From what I know, if this filter you are talking about is indeed a protein skimmer, it should work fine as long as the water is not too "soft". As you should know, skimmer's work better in harder water's due to the density. If it is hard enough, it should be much much more effective(usually).
For the plant's, if you have the time and mind to take care of real one's, it would be a good idea because they help control the toxins in the water, give it a nice natural look and give's some hiding spots for some smaller species of fish.