De-rimming a 10g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheCrazyFishLady

Aquarium Advice Addict
Some thread a few days ago (can't remember which one) had someone mention to do a riparium. Had no clue what this was, so I did a bit of research and was sold. I have a 10g set up with a one inch dragonscale betta in it and two sitting in the storage room, so I thought this would be perfect to set up for him and just transfer after it is done and cycled. And I've never done a log before and maybe this will help someone else out? I will try to post pictures as I go along.

So, I did a bit of reading on how to and lots of people say no, of course. But, this is a 10g and will only be filled roughly half-way. I have two back-up tanks just in case I mess something up or it cracks, so no worries. Anyway, lots of people use lots of different tools and do it different ways. Personally, I found this article to be the most interesting and easiest step-by-step presentation.

http://www.natureaquariumclubofutah.com/How_to_Remove_the_Rim_off_a_Standard_Rimmed_Tank.pdf

So, I'm going to clean one of my 10g tanks down (I'm usuing one of the storage ones and they are a bit gunky) and go buy some razors and alcohol in a bit.

I de-rimmed a 10g. It wasn't nearly as easy as they make it out to be. Maybe it was just the walmart tank, maybe it was my technique, but it took a lot more than a razor blade to get my rim off. I had to take pliers and break it off. Still turned out good, just wasn't as easy as they made it out to be. The fun part is getting all of the extra silicone off.

quick question:
is de-rimming really necessary? or is it purely for aesthetics (make the tank look bigger)?
I mean...you can still create a riparium-style tank with the rims attached.

anyways, I do LOVE the effect of riparium-style tank.
27-IX-10-tank-I-b.jpg