Dead Fish This Morning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gmanova

Aquarium Advice Activist
I had a dead fish today. Tank is Freshwater planted 46 gallon running about 2 weeks. I am new to this hobby and need expert advice! Water tested today was Temp.= 76, pH=7.6, NH3=2ppm, NO2= 0ppm, and NO3=20ppm. I want to ensure the safety of my fish! Do any of my test results look out of line? Thank you for helping.

gmanova said:
I had a dead fish today. Tank is Freshwater planted 46 gallon running about 2 weeks. I am new to this hobby and need expert advice! Water tested today was Temp.= 76, pH=7.6, NH3=2ppm, NO2= 0ppm, and NO3=20ppm. I want to ensure the safety of my fish! Do any of my test results look out of line? Thank you for helping.

The ammonia (NH3) is definitely what caused it.

Yea it seems you had an ammonia spike, however this may be from the dead fish depending on how long it's been sat there.

Anyways a couple large (80%) water changes are needed to bring the ammo and trAtes down.

gmanova said:
Platy Hi Fin died. I had 2. Also have 2 Neon tetras and @ Pristella tetras

Would recommend filling out the tetra schools to around 6ish to reduce stress on them, did you see the fish yesterday before it died or is it possible it has been sat the re for a while?

I saw the fish last night! IT WASN't LIVELY AT ALL AND DID NOT EAT. So it died overnight! It is in one piece. No signs of any damage.

gmanova said:
I saw the fish last night! IT WASN't LIVELY AT ALL AND DID NOT EAT. So it died overnight! It is in one piece. No signs of any damage.

Relax...

Have you performed the water changes yet?

If not that should be your first priority, as asked before was this tank fish less cycled or cycled in anyway?

**Also just for future reference if a fish isnt its usual self and not eating a water test should be high up on your list.**