Death after giving birth?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

intharuff

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am fairly new to this. I had a Molly and a Platy that both produced fry ( I have a new 10 gallon tank just for the little guys). I have 14 altogether now. Question is, do these breeds normally die after giving birth? Both seemed to be birthing over a period of a 3-4 days (hanging out near the bottom, not moving much, a little one every now and then). Once they were done, both seemed to "give up" and died at the bottom of the tank. I have a 20 gallon tank with 4 Neon Tetra's, 3 (was 4) Platys, 1 (was 2) Molly, 1 guppy, 1 placosytmus and an African dwarf frog and all are fine. Water tests fine. Anyone with more knowledge on this subject??

Hi-

What does it mean "Water tests fine"? Could you be more precise and give us the values?

No, they should not die after birth.

Mollies: brackish water fishes, therefore they would be happier in their own tank if possible.

Plecostomus: I guess this one is small. However, be aware that they can grow quite large and over time will outgrow your aquarium. Consider a new, larger aquarium for the future.

intharuff, welcome to AA.com!

How old were the fish that died? astroguy is right, they shouldn't die after birth, although I've heard many stories that say likewise. My molly dropped fry and less than two weeks later died. I suppose fish could also die from the labors of birthing, but that isn't the norm.

How are all your other fish doing? No signs of disease or aggression or stress?

I used to have a molly 10 years ago and when its had fry it didn't die until months later, probably due to lack of my knowlege of fish keeping (I was 9yrs old at the time).