Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-24-2013, 10:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NativeTank7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 116
Dechlorinator raising PH?

I have the brand "wardley chlor out" water conditioner. I checked my ph readings to see what they were and they were at an 8.8 after I put the water conditioner in. I checked it straight from the tap and the ph is 7.8. A 1.0 leap. Is this normal for other people or just the product? It was given to me so not sure too much about the product
__________________

__________________
NativeTank7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:58 PM   #2
Default User Title
 
Sambo7475's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 400
I don't use that brand of dechlorinator, but a quick google search doesn't reveal anything that says that it raises pH.
What other things do you have in your tank? Rocks, coral, certain structures can raise the pH.
I use and highly recommend Seachem brand Prime dechlorinator. Not only does it dechlorinate, it also binds ammonia and nitrite if present. I used it all through my fish in cycle without losing a single fish.
__________________

__________________
Fish are like babies, if it fits in his mouth, he's going to eat it.
Sambo7475 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NativeTank7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo7475 View Post
I don't use that brand of dechlorinator, but a quick google search doesn't reveal anything that says that it raises pH.
What other things do you have in your tank? Rocks, coral, certain structures can raise the pH.
I use and highly recommend Seachem brand Prime dechlorinator. Not only does it dechlorinate, it also binds ammonia and nitrite if present. I used it all through my fish in cycle without losing a single fish.
I have driftwood and a few plants. I will be picking prime up next time I'm at the pet shop. Does prime affect ph or no?
__________________
NativeTank7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Prime does not affect Ph and no declor should. I've never used the brand in question.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
NativeTank7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Prime does not affect Ph and no declor should. I've never used the brand in question.
Yea it was given to me from an old shop that was closing down and tested it on some buckets of water and let's just say it didn't pass inspection lol I will definitely be getting some prime. Thanks for the responses
__________________
NativeTank7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dechlorinator

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.