Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2004, 08:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 89
Diatom filter?

I would pretty much like to know if a Diatom filter would be the right way to go for my 55 gallon tank. I'm having a problem with the crushed coral that I added to my tank causing a nice fine white cloud. I can reduce it with water changes but if I stir up the coral on the bottom I'm pretty sure it will cloud right up again. I'm figuring even if I can clear it up for now, when I get my cichlids they will do a good job of stirring it up again. I have 2 Emperor 280's running so I don't need any serious filtration, just something to clear up the water aesthetically. So what would be your suggestion? I don't have a huge budget, looking to spend under $90. Should I go with a diatom or a cannister and do something like this guy did: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...ghlight=diatom
He basically took a cannister filter and put DE powder in it. (Which I have no idea what it is)

Ideally this is something that I probably wouldn't need to run all the time, I could have it on a switch. But I suppose if I got a cannister possibly might run it all the time and just substitute in the DE powder only when I need it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Jdills1347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 08:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
imo if you dont keep it on all the time and just keep it in that lil tube thing wouldnt the powder thats on the wheel settle on the bottom and harden.. powders like that usually dont come out witout a fight after they compact

so maybe it might work ur way but if it doesnt you might just clean the whole thing out when ur gonna turn it off.. because then u wont have to worry about the filter thingy... and if it settles wont the berings get like gunked up?

if im not mistaken the hot thingy is the rube with the giant bio wheel type thingy
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 08:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
I love my diatom filter; I originally bought it after a nasty bout of green water, but I use it regularly in my tanks to polish the water and pull out any lil nasties the regular HOB missed. I spent less the $70 for mine; tis a Vortex D-1 and I got it at Big Als online. Apparently the true diatom filters work better then the regular filter/diatom ones.

Erm, and I have no idea what krap is saying.
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 08:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 89
^I'm glad I'm not the only one that doesn't understand what he/she is saying. So by regularly do you mean all the time or do you turn it off and on? Oh and what size tank do you use it on?
__________________
Jdills1347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 09:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
I use it once every week or 2 on all my larger tanks (15g, 25g and 55g). I run it for a couple hours; the D-1 turns over 150 gph so I figure a thats plenty to polish the water. When I used it for removing the algae bloom, I was able to see to the other side of the tank in 15 mins!

I try to run some bleach/water mixture thru the tubes before using it on a diff tank although I'm aware the bag in the filter is the same. So far nothing has shown up or traveled from tank to tank (obviously not an issue with your one tank).
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 09:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
what i meant was ya kno if you leave like lets say hot chocolate in a cup for a long time it gets cold and then it settles on the bottom. then it gets like a goopy stuff and then it hardens..

thats what happens with most powders i think. and before it gets hard when it turns goopy wont it get into the berings of the wheel thingy?

i guess its not the thing with those filters
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 11:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 89
O ok ha that was in english that time. Thanks. Well I would only be using it with one tank so do you think its possible to be able to hook this up to a switch so I can turn it only when need be? If so will I have to purge the line somehow so the water doesn't sit in the tube and the filter chamber stagnant? And what is the maintenance like on these, meaning everytime I use it I will need to replace the media? Thanks for all the help by the way.
__________________
Jdills1347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 11:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
i think you should like hook it up to a bucket and then just keep it running there
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 12:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 89
I'm very tempted to get one, but upon reading some reviews it seems like it requires maintainence everytime you use it. And it's not always that easy.
__________________
Jdills1347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 03:23 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 2,303
Send a message via AIM to madasafish
Hey, that's true. You do have to wash it out every time you use it--it's a *specialty* filter. Once you get the hang of cleaning and starting it up, it's not that tough.
__________________
MTS is a blessing, not a disease.
madasafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 04:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 89
Yeh you are right. If I only use it like once a month it shouldn't be that bad. I guess my big question was should I go for a cannister filter and used the powder whenever need be and use it regularly the rest of the time.
__________________

__________________
Jdills1347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diatom, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Used diatom filter? namy77 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-23-2009 07:18 PM
DIATOM FILTER: Diatom filter powder vs. Super Char djmpj2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-27-2007 12:16 AM
Diatom Filter? realdeal General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 10-08-2007 12:01 AM
Diatom filter.... Lonewolfblue General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-23-2006 04:31 PM
Diatom Filter deli_conker General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-19-2003 02:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×