Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-11-2017, 12:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Howard Lake, MN
Posts: 10
Question Did I miss part of the cycle?

Looking for some advice:

Set up my 55gal fw tank a couple of weeks ago. Turned out, it was poor timing. For a couple of days, I was able to keep the ammonia levels up. Then, I had class and then our family went for a four-day break.

When I got back, I tested ammonia, it was under 1ppm. So, I got it back up to 4ppm. Then, the next day, it went back down to 1ppm. I tested for nitrites and got none. Did this for a couple of days. Then, today I decided to test for nitrates. Wow! They are off the charts.

So, did I miss part of the cycle while I was gone?

I am planning to do a 50% water change tomorrow.

Should there be something else I am doing?

Otherwise, the tank looks beautiful, even though there's no fish.
__________________

__________________
RevLoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 10:10 AM   #2
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,994
I've seen the nitrite come and go very quickly in threads before. One to check would be tap water for everything - some tap water is high in nitrates, etc.
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 10:24 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Howard Lake, MN
Posts: 10
Thank you. I will do that... Although, all the levels look good right now after a 50% water change.
__________________
RevLoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 06:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Howard Lake, MN
Posts: 10
Wait. If the water source had high Nitrates, wouldn't I still get an ammonia reading? I am adding ammonia and it goes away.
__________________
RevLoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 08:57 PM   #5
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,994
Did I miss part of the cycle?

Yes, for sure.

Good idea to check though as this gives baseline readings so you can see the change. Also allows ph (likely decrease) to be tracked.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How did I miss this 3" fish? Gauge Saltwater & Reef - Identification 10 05-26-2006 05:36 PM
Did I cycle & miss it? kristap Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 15 09-07-2005 09:57 AM
Ok, did I miss it? HighTide Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 04-25-2005 10:58 AM
Did I miss something, 2x4 question RogerMcAllen DIY Projects 7 04-01-2005 08:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×