Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2014, 02:32 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,064
Dirt substrates, what should I use.

I want to make my own dirt substrate for my tank. Something that is not every complicated and would be reasonable in cost.

What should I do?

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
philipraposo198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 02:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Maybe not resonable in cost, but Fluval black substrate was my best bet for plants. Over time it degrade and become "dirt".
__________________

__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 06:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
I'm not sure exactly what you're looking for here. Are you going for a specific color / texture of substrate or a specific function?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 06:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
That's my substrate. It's a very good substrate for plants IMO if it's what you plan...


(That's a picture I took with my new SLR cam)


It's a kind of potting soil but solid.
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, dirt, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i use multiple substrates in one fish tank? aawenwashere Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-17-2013 09:55 PM
Can i use orchid potting mix to dirt my tank ? Sebastienb Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 05-26-2013 11:44 PM
Ok to use dirt under gravel as substrate? Bettabutterfly Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 05-21-2013 02:01 PM
To Dirt or Not to Dirt... brunettebaby4571 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 22 02-09-2013 03:46 AM
Dirt vs commercial substrates blizowman1 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 26 06-25-2012 12:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×