Discus Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BreeB1360

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Im a beginner with the discus fish, but i have been keeping aquariums for a couple of years now.... i have a 40 gallon cichlid tank and a 40 gallon community tank.... Anyway my question has to do with my 20 gallon high tank and discus.... Im not sure i want to fully jump into getting a 55 gallon tank or larger with a discus stock just because i dont want to waste my money on a fish that i cant manage to keep alive... I was wondering if i could keep mabey 5 or so small juviniles in a 20 gallon as a temporary housing situation to see if i can keep them alive with my water conditions... Im prepared to do as much matience as nessacary... Also if i could keep juvies in this tank for any period of time, how long would it take for them to outgrow it? and how often would i have to do water changes?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Im a beginner with the discus fish, but i have been keeping aquariums for a couple of years now.... i have a 40 gallon cichlid tank and a 40 gallon community tank.... Anyway my question has to do with my 20 gallon high tank and discus.... Im not sure i want to fully jump into getting a 55 gallon tank or larger with a discus stock just because i dont want to waste my money on a fish that i cant manage to keep alive... I was wondering if i could keep mabey 5 or so small juviniles in a 20 gallon as a temporary housing situation to see if i can keep them alive with my water conditions... Im prepared to do as much matience as nessacary... Also if i could keep juvies in this tank for any period of time, how long would it take for them to outgrow it? and how often would i have to do water changes?