Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-17-2013, 04:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Question Do I need a carbon cartridge for my Fluval Nano?

Hi there,

My Fluval Nano filter did not come with a carbon cartridge insert but it turns out amazon does sell them separately. I'm fairly new to this hobby and my tank hasn't even finished a full cycle yet (1.5 weeks in) but I've heard it's good to have carbon in the filter but it could be bad for the live plants I have too. What are your recommendations?

http://www.amazon.ca/Carbon-Cartridg...+carbonhttp://

Old 09-17-2013, 06:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocncheffy View Post
Hi there,

My Fluval Nano filter did not come with a carbon cartridge insert but it turns out amazon does sell them separately. I'm fairly new to this hobby and my tank hasn't even finished a full cycle yet (1.5 weeks in) but I've heard it's good to have carbon in the filter but it could be bad for the live plants I have too. What are your recommendations?

http://www.amazon.ca/Carbon-Cartridg...+carbonhttp://
You don't really need carbon except for removing meds or odours. It can become quite expensive to run carbon continuously. If you can get some in, I would add some filter floss. It will do as good, if not better job of polishing the water. It is harmless to the tank and also extremely cheap to buy....

Old 09-17-2013, 10:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

+1 for filter floss and no carbon. Unless you have a nasty odour, too much colour leached from wood or leaves or some type of medication that must be removed from the water, carbon is just not needed.
Old 09-18-2013, 07:38 AM   #4
Sf1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Do I need to buy a special filter floss? Or any?
Old 09-18-2013, 09:43 AM   #5